THE TWELVE TRIBES OF ISRAEL

- 1. Reuben
- 2. Simeon
- 3. Judah
- 4. Dan
- 5. Naphtali
- 6. Gad
- 7. Asher
- 8. Issachar
- 9. Zebulun
- 10. Manasseh (son of Joseph, adopted by Jacob)
- 11. Ephraim (son of Joseph, adopted by Jacob)
- 12. Benjamin

The tribe of Levi is not assigned land in Canaan; their inheritance is the Lord (Deut. 10:8–9). The Levites will serve God as priests and caretakers for God's sanctuary and all the holy things associated with worship. Because the Levites belong to God and are exempt from military service, they are not counted in the census (Num. 1:49).